Archive | 21:13

Bhavat Bhavam

28 Jan

Principle of Bhavat Bhavam

There is a wonderful principle in astrology called ‘Bhavat Bhavam’ which can be applied to a chart to derive / decipher maximum information about an individual and his relatives. Bhava in Sanskrit means a ‘House’ which can be interpreted as residence, residence of celestial planets or astrological house.
 “Bhavat Bhavam” literally means from “from house to house”. By applying this logic, we can study the houses in a much deeper way than normal interpretation. This house-to-house principle can be extended to every house and reveals that there is a relationship between such houses.
 This principle can be applied different ways:
 1. Taking one house as reference point we can correlate other 11 houses to forecast for self and other factors representing those houses.
  • For example, 2nd house represent ‘Dhanastana’ i.e. money, accumulation of wealth etc of the self (Lagna). Similarly ‘gains ‘of children can be read by 6th house and that of spouse by 8th house.
  • 12th house is the house of expenses, hospitalisation and bed pleasure. This represent the ‘losses’ of self (Lagna). Extending this further we can say 6th house represents the losses or expenses of marriage (7th house) and 2nd house represents the same for coborns (3rd house)
 2. The house that is as far away from a house, as it is from the ascendant, also signifies those same things in a similar sort of way.
  • The 9th house is the house of Dharma. When we count 9th from the 9th house we get the 5th house. 5th house pertains to children, knowledge, scriptures and Purva Punya etc. Jupiter is involved as the natural karaka of the 5th and the 9th houses and of dharma and intelligence/creativity. When we judge the 5th & 9th houses we have to evaluate the common karaka, Jupiter as an indication to the fruits of family and expansion of Dharma.
  • Let’s look at the 5th from the 5th. We arrive at the 9th, the house of fortune (fortunate to bear children), it also indicates future children – that is grandchildren, which can only happen if the 5th house produces children.
 I will illustrate the application of this principle by taking one Bhava and correlating with other 11 Bhavas and the extra information we can get from such exercise. The second Bhava apart from being ‘Dhanastana’ for self can provide a variety of information as follows.
  • Being 12th from 3rd it will represent losses, hospitalization, imprisonment of brothers and neighbours.
  • Being 11th from 4th – social activities and profits of mother, gains from land / house property and vehicle.
  • Being 10th from 5th _ career interests of children, their reputation and performance in school or college.
  • Being 9th from 6th – Long journeys of maternal relatives.
  • Being 8th from 7th _ death of husband or wife / end of marriage.
  • Being 7th from 8th – bequests and legacies through wife or husband
  • Being 6th from 9th – shows ill-health, debts and enemies of father.
  • Being 5th from 10th – investments and speculation in career.
  • Being 4th from 11th – homes of friends and elder brother
  • Being 3rd from 12th – short journeys of secret enemies.
The discussion on Bhavat Bhavam is not complete without the mention of another dictum known as ‘Karako Bhavanashaya’. In simple words a Karaka in its own house is not a good placement. The Karaka destroys the house it represents! Simply put, the planet which is the significator for that house, if placed in that house itself destroys the significations of that house. For example: Jupiter in 5th, Sun in 9th and Mars in 3rd and so on.
Some learned astrologers have opined that this principle mostly harms the living beings it represents than the inanimate aspect of life. However I will leave this to the readers to judge by experience and do not wish to get into any discussion.
The small treatise, “Bhavartha Ratnakara” written by Sri Ramanujacharya and translated by Dr BV Raman gives more insights into this.